Home > apps, likes, Maemo, N900 > Still here.. The N900 still rocks

Still here.. The N900 still rocks

The arrival of our new baby boy 4 weeks ago has been the sole reason for the hiatus from the blog. Hopefully, I will get back on routine updates very soon.

So to fill in the gap, I wanted to share how I used the N900 around the time of the delivery of our baby. I am sure most of you will agree that birth is a prime-time event that demands fast and effective communication with family and friends. And sure enough, the N900 performed flawlessly when it mattered most; and then some.

I used it in the OR (operating-room) for shooting a video of our son’s birth and taking pictures. Soon after, and for the next 2 days in the hospital, the calls, smses, texts, and IMs were constantly going in and out. Skype and Gtalk made communication with international contacts easy. Some I knew preferred email so I shot off emails while taking breaks from the nursery. Pixelpipe pushed pictures to facebook and simplified sharing pictures with relatives who were happy to get a first look at the baby so quickly after birth.

Expecting heavy usage, I carried an extra battery with an external charger to the hospital because I knew I could’nt afford to wait by a wall outlet while the battery charged. It was a great idea. All in all, the N900 served faithfully and proved itself to be reliable once again.

Of course, there were plenty of pictures taken. I will leave you with one of the early ones🙂

created using MaStory on the N900

Categories: apps, likes, Maemo, N900 Tags:
  1. d.b
    July 13, 2010 at 1:43 am

    you mentioned that you use an external battery chrgr. can you provide a model number? Or even a source? I have been looking for one and not been successful in finding on. all I have heard (up until reading your comment) is that folks use a second phne as a charger. thanks. d.b

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

