Home > apps, likes, Maemo, N900 > Ovi Maps: Places

Ovi Maps: Places

As I use Ovi Maps on 3G, I am beginning to like the program I used to hate from very early on. Today I discovered that the ‘Places’ search actually searches the nearest location for a place being searched for. For example, when I search for ‘Costco’, the search result was a Costco outlet closest to my position.

Clicking the ‘i’ on the search-result reveals more information, which in this case also displayed a phone number that can be called directly by clicking the phone icon.

The integration with the phone app was cool. I wish the microB browser also had a similar feature.

The downside is that, this is all possible only when a data-connection is available. It would be great if Maemo Ovi Maps would support offline Symbian-like searches.

Categories: apps, likes, Maemo, N900
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

