Home > apps, Bluetooth, likes, Maemo, N900 > Tethered N900 to Ubuntu 9.10 via Bluetooth

Tethered N900 to Ubuntu 9.10 via Bluetooth

Lars’ comment inspired me to give Bluetooth tethering a shot – again, something I have never tried before with any device. Sure enough, it is possible and thanks to Ubuntu, extremely easy. No command line required. All that is needed is:

The blueman front-end is optional but it makes the process simple. Right-click device -> Serial Ports -> Dialup Service. Once the N900 is connected, select the Broadband connection from the Network Manager. My MobileVikings connection worked flawlessly.

:likes:

  1. April 13, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    Thanks for the instructions! I’m wondering are you using this regularly? I can’t quite get it to work, after I click Dial Up service I get an error

    The device Eoin’s N900 does not appear to support GSM/CDMA.
    This connection will not work.

    any ideas, please?

  2. April 18, 2010 at 9:50 am

    It’s working – I’m using that connection now.

    After I see the error message, I just dismiss it, then (after a minute or so) click on the Network Manager icon up by the time & date. In that list, there is a new network for me to select under the Mobile Broadband category. I select it, disconnect my wireless connection and then I’m mobile!

    It’s a great money-saver to be able to use the data allowance that comes with the phone to tether, previously I wasn’t able to do that with my iphone. (that’s without even mentioning the frustration that itunes doesn’t exist for Ubuntu)

    Farewell iphone, hello open road! Thanks mustali

    • April 19, 2010 at 8:35 pm

      glad you got it to work Eoin! sorry couldn’t reply sooner.

      Tethering is such a joy! What I would like to do is to share my N900 data connection over wifi. The only thing required is a custom kernel which is available in Maemo Extras. just need the time to tinker.🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

