Home > apps, likes, N900 > Syncing with Google finally!

Syncing with Google finally!

This morning I was happy to see Mail For Exchange finally working again! For some reason, it wasn’t working for the past two weeks; kept getting ‘Exchange server not responding’ error.

In case you didn’t know, the app can be used to sync Gmail contacts and the Google Calendar to the N900 seamlessly.

The Contact sync pulls down the contact info along with its image if there is one.

Unfortunately, multiple calendars are not supported at the moment but the default calendar is still a great feature that I use daily.

Great to be syncing again. helps keeping away the insanity of managing multiple addressbooks.

  1. Joost
    November 13, 2009 at 10:03 am

    Nice blog. Couple of questions on this google sync on the n900. Does it sync 2 ways? Can I use an e-mail address on domain? I use them in gmail, so am hoping I will be able to send from my email address instead of the gmail address.

    thanks!

  2. Lukas
    November 20, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    Are all fields of the contacts synced properly?

    Somebody on talk.maemo.org had a problem that only names and mail addresses would be synced, but not phone numbers or street addresses. I assume that’s fixed then?

    • November 21, 2009 at 4:59 pm

      I have only used the GMail exchage setup. All fields (Home/Office phone/email/address) except fax-numbers sync correctly. The fax-numbers do sync but show up as Other.

  3. Jason
    March 21, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    How exactly did you get it to sync. I have been trying for the past three days to get this to sync but whenever I tried, I get the error you mentioned above. There was a time when it sync but it ended up deleting all the contacts on my Phone and did not update the contacts on gmail. Can you write a step-by-step approach to how you got this working?

  4. SS
    August 23, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    Guys,

    Here is how I got my N900 to sync with google. Now, it works every-time.

    http://open-attitude.blogspot.com/2011/08/sync-n900-with-google-contacts.html

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

