Home > apps, hotspot, likes, Maemo, N900, T-Mobile, tethering > Jailbreaking over MobileHotspot

Jailbreaking over MobileHotspot

After buying an iPhone 3gS today, I took my 6 year old to Chuck-E-Cheese’s as I had promised last week; even though I find its ambience utterly unbearable.

In order to use the 3gS on T-Mobile, I had planned to jailbreak it after getting home. But while hanging out at ChuckE, in the midst of the yelling, crying and laughing kids, it occurred to me that a jailbreak using a hotspot tether over 3G is entirely possible!

So I whipped out the N900, fired up MobileHotspot, and laid it on the table away from the pizza and soda stains while my son was busy dropping tokens in mindless games. After its usual set of annoyances, the Hotspot started; and the iPhone duly picked it up. It was then simply a matter of going to jailbreakme.com and sliding to begin :)

T-Mobile’s connection, thankfully, remained solid during the download and the process completed painlessly.

Once again, the N900 brought joy.

  1. Anan
    September 10, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    Hi, I have a qn with jailbreaking with jailbreakme. Do you know what ios version your iphone was running before the jailbreak?

  2. RA
    September 15, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    ok, thanks. I think I jumped over to 4.1 without knowing that jailbreak doesn’t support it yet!

  3. RA
    September 17, 2010 at 3:37 am

    did u just jailbreak it or also get to unlock the phone?

  4. November 18, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    Looks easier than I thought – will have to try that on my iphone… Lol’d at you owning both iphone and n900 – thats the same as me ;)… (Also a HTC Desire).

    • November 18, 2010 at 7:59 pm

      The iphone was temporary. I used it for a while to get the experience. I think I wrote a post on it too. But the N900 is my primary phone. It will be a while before the N900 becomes obsolete.

  5. December 25, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    It’s too bad that the corporate pigs drive us to this. It’s my phone, I should be able to use it however I want.

  6. June 26, 2012 at 8:13 pm

    Best shopping experience online for wireless phones (unlocked).

  7. May 25, 2013 at 9:40 am

    Excellent. I agree.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.