Home > likes, Maemo, N900, ovi, Ovi Suite, T-Mobile, T-Mobile, USB, Windows 7 > Tethering on the N900 – Part 2 (USB)

Tethering on the N900 – Part 2 (USB)

Windows 7

Unexpectedly, tethering on 7 was quite straightforward. Ovi Suite does a pretty good job at it. Here is what needs to be done:

1. Install Nokia Ovi Suite

2. Connect the N900 in PC Suite Mode. A nice confirmation is displayed after a successful connection

3. From the Menu, Select Tools -> ‘Connect to internet’ to bring up the wizard.

4. Select Country / Carrier

6. Thats it! Turned out that Ovi uses epc.tmobile.com for the default APN setting for T-Mobile. This didn’t work for me. After changing it to internet2.voicestream.com from Tools -> Options, I was able to connect and surf.

My initial experience with Ovi Suite was great.  The integration with the N900 was good enough for me to get what I wanted quickly. Although I don’t use Windows daily, it is nice to know that the N900 is well supported. It’d be great if Bluetooth was this easy too :). I’ll leave that for the next post.

  1. Jim
    August 23, 2010 at 12:18 am

    Nice Job!

  2. Jong
    August 23, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    Woah!
    Since when has OVI Suite supported N900? :o

    • August 24, 2010 at 10:40 am

      Not sure since when, but its neat.

  3. oKtosiTe
    August 23, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    I hope you’re doing one on Mac OS X next. Although I’m not a Mac regular, I found it quite easy to set up on Leopard too.

    • August 24, 2010 at 10:39 am

      sorry. I’ve never used/owned a Mac before :P. But I hear good things about it :)

  4. August 23, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    Hi, is the other way possible too? To share the internet on the laptop running windows 7 to the N900 via USB.

    Laptop (windows 7) —(via USB)—> N900 ??

    • August 24, 2010 at 10:42 am

      It should be possible. I will give it a try. just got USB Networking to work so its a step in the right direction! :)

  1. August 23, 2010 at 1:58 pm
  2. September 2, 2010 at 11:26 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.